The Good Old Days, keep rolling on

 

__In 1988- I began in the world of desk top publishing- the current affordable models were inferior for international advertising standards; with rough reproduction, well below our standard. As we had Government Quality Assurance QA level expectations.

Also, Style manuals our clients companies required- had the exact fonts as registered under Berthold.[1]

Before the adaptions on traditional typefaces, we all now use each day. There was copyright over the fonts and they were un-deviated.

My business partner and I, preferred to invest in an ITEK photo type-setter for the crisp preciseness of the original fonts. Each font size, italics, extended or condensed version of the font was a separate reload my screen looked like a fragmentation version of the modern day computer and I would have to develop it in be precise as the developing materials were very expensive

This intrinsic knowledge set me apart as a type designer in Brisbane – when under the direction of the Petrak brothers- I was taught graphic design by MOJO- Mattingly advertising Art- director John Petrak and Daniel Petrak of Intermedia, at Toowong.

Artrage invested in a bromide camera to accompany the phototypesetting machine and processors. We were one of the only one-stop art studios with a set up consisting of a dark room and art workroom. I have been taught every element of the print media trade from exposure times for the Repromaster bromide camera- to photo typesetting and kerning between lettering -to the pantone colour system, estimating and quoting

 

I had a good relationship with the local Newspaper Logan and Albert News – formed by my ongoing community work since an early age and this carried through into the business world. I would place advertisements in The Logan and Albert News and in return we would gain some jobbing work in the form of bromides- as we had unique screens for newsprint from square screens to round pixelated screens. Thirty years ago, the print media pre- art was an art process of great expense, so it had to be precise the first time.

Artrage, were invited to take up residence at Gregory Terrace, as the art studio for Faces Corporate Communications.

From Faces Corporate Communications- I blossomed into the corporate world of public relations. Each day began in the boardroom, we would brain storm current projects and I had regular briefings during the day. We worked on major projects in the corporate world of advertising. Particular emphasis was placed on competing conceptualisations, methodologies and intended or unintended outcomes of audience research. This was achieved through assessment that assisted in developing skills and constructing and evaluating quantitative and qualitative audience research.

Chosen case studies featured successful advertising campaigns their particular sectors and research methodologies used to illustrate the diverse approaches to and debates within audience research. Audience analysis has been a dominant focus of debate around the media and its role in the media industry has been predominate for decades. By considering the past advertising campaigns that offer examples of key theoretical paradigms; maps the shift from an ‘effects’ dominated discourse to acknowledgement of the ‘active’ audience; and incorporates success as it worked in the original campaign.

I worked on the new name change for Australia Fair Shopping Centre at Southport, formerly Scarborough Fair. We worked on the design the press advertisements, using the slogan –Advancing to Australia Fair. This helped to boost the morale of customers and staff, who relied on the notification of carpark changes, and building inconveniences during construction and expansion.

It was here I first learned how to place advertisements into the Courier- Mail, The Age, the Financial Review and the Sydney Morning Herald according to their column size. I enjoyed working on magazine advertisements and they were somewhat similar to a full colour print run they required film separations.

I then expanded into the promotional market and I organised the art for many promotional goods and corporate gifts.

In 1989 I worked on the sale of STC House, the old- Queen Adelaide Place and on the WATPAC, MIM Holdings and Girl Guides Queensland Annual Reports.

In 1989 I gained my first multinational/ International client- BHP Koppers. I launched Koppers Super Logs Nationwide.

This consisted of a marketing campaign targeted at Koppers stockists. Primarily a print media based campaign coupled with corporate signage and promotional goods. This marketing program spanned over 8 years.

In 1990 I took on the role of advertising executive and copy writer. I would catch a plane early in the mornings to North Sydney for business meetings on a regular basis.

I then began to delegate- I would brief my Art Director and present the concept roughs- the client would make their choice. I would then organise the copy, I would give the client a choice on paper, (we call stock) and explain the printing processes and associated costs and work within the budget constraints, I would fill out a production sheet and the client would sign it. I would then present a sheet of copy to the art director who would do the final draft and then the printing proof was sent to my clients for approval. I continued to follow the entire process from concept to completion starting at the colour separators and throughout the printing process to delivery.

I would also research quality corporate products from Hong-Kong buyers’ books and I had a relationship with each Australian promotional supplier as now; I not only produced finished art for them, I also began ordering their merchandise, for my vast portfolio of clients.

I would organise the screen printing or pad-printing process- to completion. I also had to liaise with printers, typesetters, illustrators, and with the paper sales representatives. I was a member of the Australasian printers enjoyed the industry trade magazine and would occasionally attend meetings. I was abreast of all the new developments, and had a keen interest in PACPRINT in Victoria, each year.

I also attended conferences and trade fairs, to network and found out when new accounts were up for grabs, I also utilised the procurement gazettes and newspaper tenders. I was involved with the entire print media process from concept to completion.

I then expanded into the promotional market and I organised the art for many promotional goods and corporate gifts.

In 1989 I worked on the sale of STC House, the old- Queen Adelaide Place and on the WATPAC ,MIM Holdings and Girl Guides Queensland annual reports. Designed creative campaigns for World Gym and Lady Elliott Island and HOG wear Australia- where I would enlist talent such as models for shoots.

I maintained great relationships with photographers, screen printers and set designers and I know a large variety of talent.

 

In 1991 I gained Hutton Homes as a client and developed a marketing campaign for Southern Queensland- launched with a press advertisement in the Courier- Mail.

 

In 1992, Koppers Queensland office invited me into have studio space at their Holland Park address. This was so I could produce media releases as needed by Koppers. We would organise the sending of any requested new promotional material to stockist’s as demanded; and re-order any printing or promotional goods if necessarily required.

 

In 1994-1995- I successfully targeted both State and Local Government- I worked on the launch of the Logan art Gallery I designed  brochures, working in with the Public Relations and the Logan Artists, this opening in 1995 was and is, a great resource for the residents and artists communities alike.

 

I also promoted the spring parades in Logan and many other local social awareness campaigns. I worked on the risk management of animal control within Logan Council, whereby we enlisted an illustrator to develop a superhero character.

Working within the social marketing sphere was very interesting- In 1995- I was approached by QHealth- to produce a brochure on healthy eating during pregnancy. I was ironically pregnant with my third child, this was an interesting production.

I then liaised with NSW Health who kindly said they would supply any photos for Artrage to use as an in-kind gesture. We then decided to tackle social issues head on- however we decided the abuser of drugs is the last to see he/she has a problem. However, their partner is acutely aware of the alcohol abuse and the affliction. We launched the first 24 hr hotline for QHealth; in conjunction with the series of brochures entitled-‘Worried about Someone’s…. Drinking, drug taking, etc.

 

I scored the contract to produce the Corporate Identity, for 16 childcare centres throughout South East Queensland for A to Z Childcare.

I developed a bag that had sun-screen and an activity book based at the age of the child and pencils/crayons. I also worked on the development of Logandale- a gated prestigious home estate in Cornubia. I designed a newsletter and based the selling of the land around life-style.

 

I assisted the former Logan City Mayor Rod Golledge with his political campaign and return to the mayoral office in 1994 and 1997.

Logan City Councillors are not politically aligned and believe in democracy. Logan City Councillors represent their constituents within their division whereas the City Mayor represents the entire Logan City community. I enjoyed working with his dearly departed wife the then, Mayoress Lillian. I enjoy participating in the lead up to the election and found the political process exciting.

Please find attached references in support of my real-life media experiences.

_______________________________

__ Adult-hood Philanthropy

Provisional Credit is the granting of credit or the recognition of prior learning subject to prescribed conditions being met. Provisional credit is granted where there is uncertainty about the relevance or standard of particular prior learning.

1989-1991- Volunteering at Playgroup Woodridge- Ben Matthews playground.

1991-1994- Sunday school and the formation of a crèche, Trinity Baptist Church, Callamvale.

1992- 1997- RE Teaching at Yugumbir SS, Browns Plains Queensland. Baking goods for weekly cake stalls.

1994- Sessional art teaching at Link-Up BoysTown at Kingston- this was a grass roots street project aimed to target graffiti artists into producing legal public works of art.

I was inspired by the organisation and it was a good basis to understand youth and society.

1996- During my time as Youth Group leader see attached reference from Glenn Muller. I designed the program each week and I organised extreme sport and recreational activities.

I had to way up risks evaluations connected with the activity and consider the diet requirements of the youth. I had to attend all the church members meetings and work within their set ethos with my weekly program and lessons that I based on unity and kindness.

I had no trouble working within the set budget constraints- in fact I put my business skills to good use and raised money for the youth. We also linked up with other youth both nationwide and around the world. I assisted youth with their domestic, work and university issues. It grew to 50 regular attendees and was the largest youth group- at the time, in Logan City. This change in number was due to our commitment to the youth- we immediately delegated regular youth with important roles and they rose to the triumph.

We held fortnightly committee meetings with the regulars and a weekly meeting for all youth accompanied with a social activity.

1997-2004- I then moved to the Gold Coast and I volunteered at the Currumbin primary school. In 2001 I was rewarded for my volunteering efforts and received a Premiers Award- for the International Year of Volunteering– I was pregnant with my 5th child.

2002- Currumbin Spring Fair- Art

2006- Gold Coast Show- Baking

Home schooling- 2004- current- As a mother of five,

I am a home educator currently registered with NSW BOSE.

From 2004- onwards,  I reverted back to the skills I gained from RE, volunteering at the schools and as Youth Group Leader. I began home education in 2004 after my husband and I split up.
In 2009- I was registered with Queensland Education, as an approved Home Educator. Each year the requirement of Home education registration was that I developed the curriculum for each of my 3 children, this was approved by the Queensland Education.

My three youngest children have attended Griffith University with me since 2011. In 2013 my former husband Daniel, began to support me with the education of my youngest three children. My eldest daughter is a student at QUT law school this year- 2015.

In 2009-I designed fashion to inspire my daughters for home schooling. I entered the NRA Channel Nine fashion Awards with my designs. My designs were based on promoting sustainability- and were produced from clean off-cuts normally destined for land fill.

This gained much media attention and Courier-Mail and Gold Coast Bulletin’s Photographer Mike Batterham, took five amazing photos of my designs.

I lived on Macleay Island at the time and as it is isolated community; I saw the need for youth activities. I created a modelling work-shop and one of my models has gone on to grace the 2014 cover of the Italian Vogue Magazine (with an amazing underwater scene) and featured as the model in the 2014 BMW advertising campaign; we remain firm friends. (Please see my attached designs)

2009-2010- I volunteered at Cannon Hill State School In the permaculture and kitchen garden each Thursday, this was a great sense of community spirit and learning in one. This led on to my job offer at OHSC.

2009-2010- I was able to utilise my skills I have with youth- to a younger audience within the OHSC at St Oliver Plunkett and other surrounding parishes- I enjoyed teaching art to staff and children. Please see ref.

After the 2011 Brisbane floods- I had to lead the clean-up at Bulimba Girl Guide Hut as I was the District Leader of Bulimba, at the time. I had to work on restoring old books and documents and well as the complete clean-up of the Hut and I had to keep spirits of the leaders, Guides and their families high.

I was placed in the role to organise marketing and fund raising activities and applied for grant funding where required. I  was a part of the Centenary of Guiding in 2010- Celebrating with Centenary activities and conferences.

I retained close ties with Di Farmer, the then and now, State leader of Bulimba and the former Prime Minister Hon Kevin Rudd. I met with the Queensland Governor Hon Penelope Wensley, and attended Government House for the Centenary celebrations on a number of occasions.

2013- This then assisted me in my professional journalism as when I was placed by Griffith at the Daily News- for my internship. I was on location for the opening of Southern Cross University’s (SCU) latest building. I met up with Hon Penelope Wensley who remembered my face and name; and was happy to allow me plenty of time to take photos while we caught up on Guiding and introduced me to the SCU Chancellor and his wife, and to the SCU Vice Chancellor and his wife- who were most encouraging.

I believe philanthropy is paramount to community unity, my eldest daughter and I put on a play within our designed home school program for the residents at the West Moreton Nursing Home- in Wynnum, in 2010 and in 2011. We did this in conjunction with The Tertiary Place TTP, a disability organisation based in Brisbane. We wrote the play to suit the members of TTP and it was entitled “A Cheerful Christmas Classic”. This took a great deal of planning with QHealth and involved much risk evaluation and we enjoyed working within the set protocol in the months leading up to the production.

2011- I volunteered with the Griffith law school to assist in the first Mental Health Fair for the law industry- held to combat the startling figures of depression within the law industry. Peter Sams former GLS president- headed up the project which we held at South Bank.

2011- 2012- debating GODS Griffith debating

2012- I was a Griffith mentor of a first year law student.

2011-2014- I have volunteered at the Griffith Food Co-Op since I began Griffith in 2011, as a food and safety officer and as a coordinator- here I have had the opportunity to meet a myriad of students and teaching staff. My children also volunteer and are particularly busy when all the students have exams and ask my teens to assist, I am proud of their efforts. I learnt a great many dishes from my long marriage to Daniel from the Balkans, these vegetarian dishes and sweets have given me some popularity.

Since beginning at Griffith my social experiences have taken me around the globe; although I have not been anywhere. I have met people from many countries this has enriched mine, and my children’s lives. The Griffith Food Co-Op is an absolute hub whereby students can unwind and many lessons are learnt through the integration of cross faculty academia- whilst we are in-between our course lessons.

2013-2015- I am a professional vocalist. I sing in local bands (see attached photos ) of I like the way music transcends the generation gap, I have many contacts within the Australian Industry.

2014- I volunteered as a stage manager in last years Tweed Theatre Group- this role really suited me and I found it very encouraging; as it was community spirit at its very best. It was a brilliant production.

I have maintained close ties with the Slovakian, Czech, Greek, Sicilian, Russian, Polish, Serbian, Bosnian and Croatian communities through my in-laws and church related activities. I also have a good relationship with Aboriginal elders in Logan City. I have been accepted by my local Aboriginal Community – this is an absolute honour.

I am a community minded person with a creative flair- who knows how to gain media attention for social good and well-being of society.

My favourite scripture is John 8:32

And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

My second fav is

Romans 1:16

For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek.

c/o BIBLE GATEWAY https://www.openbible.info/topics/lying

THE ABOVE ARTS EXPERIENCE IS INSUFFICIENT TO GAIN RECOGNISED PRIOR LEARNING (RPL) Toward A MEASLY UNDERGRAD ARTS DEGREE at Griffith University folks !

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS SOLELY THE UNDERGRAD EXPERIENCE.

NOT MY POSTGRADUATE EXPERIENCE WHICH IS SO BRILLIANT,  AND IS A STARK CONTRAST, IN COMPARISON  TO THE DISGRACEFUL TREATMENT I ENCOUNTERED  IN MY FINAL YEAR  OF MY LAW AND ARTS UNDERGRADUATE DEGREE 

The Griffith University Admin, lost my RPL Application  file, and took 18 months to assess this information and finalised the RPL as not gaining any credit  after Griffith University are in the habit of losing files and holding back my career when I am the sole provider in my family I give them a ‘0/100’ for customer service – losing half a ream of paper a student submitted – what did they actually assess – did they ever really find it all – I HAVE MY DOUBTS ????

BECAUSE WHY WAS MY INDUSTRY EXPERIENCE INSUFFICIENT ?

Unethical to the max !! 

THE GRIFFITH UNIVERSITY ADMIN DIRECTOR IS RUDE ON THE PHONE AND GRIFFITH TOLD THE EQUAL OPPORTUNITIES (EO) IN WRITING OUTRIGHT LIES 

SUCH AS- The convenor in charge of a community internship-was called a Dr. numerous times in the letter- However this convenor is only  doing a masters degree, and is not a Dr. 

THE COMMUNITY INTERNSHIP convenor  CJ Patrick (CJP) is not a Doctor, by any means – so why did Griffith suggest this?

This heartless convenor,  FAILED ME FOR A MEDIA INTERNSHIP

And is NO EXPERT IN EITHER LAW OR MEDIA after this second submission – when my doctor requested I have extra time – the convenor refused to give me any extra time even at  the end, CJP, really put me down. Insinuating I am no good at law or media, via email. The most evilest thing about the put-downs was- the convenor,  also gave me a lower grade when I re-submitted my work – and changed my grade even lower. I was injured and still am. The fact , I finished 9 law courses whilst  injured, which spilled into semester in 2015 when THE COMMUNITY INTERNSHIP DID NOT APPEAR ON MY PORTAL and yet this CJP is above medical certificates (maybe that is why Griffth attempted to pass the convenor off as a Dr.?

Luke 16:10 

“One who is faithful in a very little is also faithful in much, and one who is dishonest in a very little is also dishonest in much.

Anyway, it is downright unconscionable , because  I was penalised for parental responsibilities and being disabled and injured.

This Community Internship convenor, refused to give me any disability provisions. Instead of being  understanding, as all the other professors were,  the emails from this convenor – are  rude nasty and this has caused me considerable educational disadvantage and financial debt HECS – etc health impacts and financial loss 

 CJP then failed me – for a community internship Griffith News did an article on the  hard work in the media freedom internship, this been mightily confusing to myself, peers, colleagues and family. 

my eldest son, dated my tutor in my community internship in year 11- and she bought a $500 dress for the Deb Ball, and then my husband and sons left me alone with a 2 year old a 4 year old and a 9 year old, when we separated, this was not my fault – my son was ripped out of my life by my husband – This year 11 deb ball was no big deal we know- MY TUTOR  got another date-became a lawyer, and is currently studying PhD in Domestic Violence (DV) of all things and here I am a  DV victim trying to gain an education free from discrimination.  THIS IS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST which has impacted my life for two years 

Griffith often loses ASSESSMENT- My DV law convenor had lost my blogs the semester before,  and I put so much effort into that course and I was told off when I did submit, everything properly in the right areas and it was an IT issue and they would not allow me access my blog site- so I had to contact the teacher again, but the convenor did change the grade. I still think I deserved a better grade, it does not reflect my work and effort I put into the DV law course by any means whatsoever. But students let things like this go all the time. 

Proverbs 11:1

A false balance is an abomination to the Lord, but a just weight is his delight.

However,getting shunted by a university who cannot inform a student in a timely manner of when The student can sit her core law exam neede in order to graduate is vastly unfair. 

So with  the CJP saga of unrelentingly denial of my lawful rights as an injured student; coupled with DR Keiran Tranter, ignoring my emails requesting disability provisions- I am prevented from finalising my law/arts degree at that university he has tried to pass it off to exams not informing me the liar – and he did not reply to my email requests at all. 

Micah 6:12

Your rich men are full of violence; your inhabitants speak lies, and their tongue is deceitful in their mouth.

 

DIVINE INTERVENTION DOES AND WILL OVERPOWER THIS MATTER NO ONE IS ABOVE MY LORD GOD ALMIGHTY

THESE ARE THE Scriptures That led me to sobriety and gave me the wisdom regarding this impossible Griffith University, situation toward me a survivor and activist for  human rights for all people-

Psalm 109:2

For wicked and deceitful mouths are opened against me, speaking against me with lying tongues.

Proverbs 13:5

The righteous hates falsehood, but the wicked brings shame and disgrace.

Proverbs 19:9

A false witness will not go unpunished, and he who breathes out lies will perish.

Proverbs 12:22

Lying lips are an abomination to the Lord, but those who act faithfully are his delight.

Luke 8:17

For nothing is hidden that will not be made manifest, nor is anything secret that will not be known and come to light.

Proverbs 24:28

Be not a witness against your neighbor without cause, and do not deceive with your lips.

Proverbs 19:5

A false witness will not go unpunished, and he who breathes out lies will not escape.

Romans 12:17-21

Repay no one evil for evil, but give thought to do what is honorable in the sight of all. If possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all. Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.” To the contrary, “if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.” Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

John 8:43-47

Why do you not understand what I say? It is because you cannot bear to hear my word. You are of your father the devil, and your will is to do your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, and has nothing to do with the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks out of his own character, for he is a liar and the father of lies. But because I tell the truth, you do not believe me. Which one of you convicts me of sin? If I tell the truth, why do you not believe me? Whoever is of God hears the words of God. The reason why you do not hear them is that you are not of God.” MORE IMPORTANTLY WHY NOT BELIEVE A DOCTORS MEDICAL CERTIFICATE ???

James 3:14

But if you have bitter jealousy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast and be false to the truth.

Zephaniah 3:13

Those who are left in Israel; they shall do no injustice and speak no lies, nor shall there be found in their mouth a deceitful tongue. For they shall graze and lie down, and none shall make them afraid.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

